Why Study In The UK?


In the United Kingdom, education begins at the age of four and continues until the students of England take the Main Stage 1 National Curriculum Test at the age of 6-7 (Year 2 of school). By the time a student completes Year 6 (ages 10-11), he or she will have taken the Main Stage 2 National Curriculum Test. For middle school students aged 13 to 14, the Main Stage 3 National Curriculum Tests (also known as the Standard Assessment Test) is held. These students take 6 to 10 subjects in GCSE (General Certificate of Secondary Education) exams when they are 16 years old. The grades for GCSE exams range from A* to G. The International GCSE (IGCSE) is an internationally recognized exam that uses the same scheme.

Students in England and Wales aged 17 to 18 who wish to prepare for Advanced or ‘A’ Level exams after completing their GCSEs. These are separated into two levels: AS and A2. A-Levels are a prerequisite for university admission. Scotland has a somewhat different structure to the rest of the United Kingdom. Students take Standard Grades level exams instead of GCSEs, and instead of A-Levels, they take Higher and Advanced Higher.

Pre-university options

Higher National Certificate (HNC) and Higher National Diploma (HND)

HNC and HND qualifications are more realistic qualifications. These are the academic equivalents of the first and second years of an undergraduate degree program, and HND students may apply to universities for a second or third year of an associated course.

International Foundation Courses (IFC)

The IFC serves as a link between non-UK secondary and higher secondary level courses and UK qualifications and is a prerequisite for college degree programs. It is a recognized pathway to degree programs at a UK college or university.

Awards, Certificates and Diplomas

Awarding Organizations have a diverse selection of qualifications in practical subjects. They are classified by their size, which ranges from an Award to a Certificate to a Diploma, and by their academic standard, which ranges from zero to eight. Academic level 3 is A-Levels, academic level 6 is a bachelor’s degree, and academic level 7 is a master’s degree.

University options

Undergraduate Degree Courses

Single subjects: In the United Kingdom, the vast majority of bachelor’s degree programs last three years and are focused on a single subject. Engineering, on the other hand, can take four years, while medicine, veterinary medicine, and dentistry usually take five.

Joint degrees: Combined subjects are available at many universities. These degrees typically have two or three equally weighted subjects.

Sandwich degrees: A sandwich degree allows students to excel academically while still preparing professionally. Sandwich courses are a type of course that combines study and practice. These programs last four years and provide one year of work experience in a similar area. These courses offer international students the opportunity to gain professional experience while also improving their academic performance. It’s worth noting that only a few colleges offer these degrees, and they’re only available in a few subjects.

Pre-masters courses

Some universities have valuable graduate programs to assist students in advancing to the post-graduate level. These one-year programs, which include a variety of specialist subjects, last for the entire academic year. They pave the way for a master’s degree in a specific field.

Post-graduate degrees

MBA, MA, MSc, and LLM are the taught master’s degrees in the United Kingdom. This type of degree usually takes a year to complete. MPhil and Ph.D. degrees usually take 12 to 26 months to complete.